The Newbery Medal

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association to the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. The ALA has presented this award since 1922. The 2021 Newbery Medal winner is “When You Trap a Tiger” by Tae Keller.

book cover art of "When you trap a tiger"

When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her Halmoni’s Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal–return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni’s health–Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice…and the courage to face a tiger.

Five Newbery Honor Books were also recognized in 2021.

All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys’ Soccer Team” by Christina Soontornvat

BOX: Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom” by Carole Boston Weatherford

Fighting Words” by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

We Dream of Space” by Erin Entrada Kelly

A Wish in the Dark” by Christina Soontornvat

We have all these titles at the library. Click the link to see if it’s currently available or checked out. No fear if it’s checked out; you can place it on hold!

The Newbery Medal winners are all shelved together in the Junior Fiction section so come take a look. If you need help, just ask at the Information Desk and we’ll take you there.


As always, catch us on social media or comment below. If you have a library question, call 972-780-5052 or email

There are no comments yet.

Leave a Reply