David L. Green


Elected: May 2016
Term Expires: May 2018

Phone: (972) 780-0348

Mailing Address:

City of Duncanville
PO Box 380280
Duncanville, TX 75138-0280

E-mail Address:


Write to the Mayor

Note: To report a concern or emergency situation in your neighborhood, please use our Report A Concern form.

David Green's Bio


  • Graduate of W.H. Adamson High School (1957)
  • Southern Methodist University (1961)
  • Bachelor of Business Administration (Economics Major)


  • Retired President and (CEO), Dallas Commercial Warehouses, Inc.


  • Reserve Commissioned Officer – U.S. Army Reserve (1963-1967)


  • Wife – Virginia Anne Green (Retired Teacher)
  • Two Daughters:
    • Julie Green Hargrove and husband Jeff Hargrove; Rachel and Hannah Sargent, granddaughters 
    • Laurie Green Jones and husband Earle Jones III; Reagan and Grayson Jones, granddaughters


City of Duncanville (Duncanville, Texas) – 1998 to 2012

  • Mayor of Duncanville (2004-2012)
  • District 1 Councilman (2001-2004)
  • Mayor pro tem (2002)
  • Planning & Zoning Commission (1998-2001)
  • P&Z vice-Chairman (1999-2001)
  • Duncanville ISD Education Foundation, Board of Directors
  • Duncanville Chamber of Commerce, Governmental Affairs Committee
  • Duncanville Rotary Club
  • Duncanville Rotary Club, Early Act First Knight Program, Hastings Elementary Representative
  • Duncanville ISD, Smith Elementary, Site-Based Decision Making Committee Member
  • Keep Duncanville Beautiful Board – Recycle Man
  • Duncanville Police Department Volunteer, 500+ Hours
  • Duncanville Citizens Police Academy Alumni Association, Past President
  • Partners for a Safe Duncanville, Member and One of the Organizing Founders
  • Duncanville Citizens on Patrol, Member
  • Duncanville Citizens Fire Academy, Graduate
  • 2007 Duncanville Man of the Year, Duncanville Chamber of Commerce
  • Duncanville Representative on the Policy Work Group of the Southern Gateway Project
  • Southwest Dallas County Regional Transportation Committee, Past Chairman
  • Dallas Regional Mobility Coalition, Past Executive Committee Member
  • Metroplex Mayors Association, Past President
  • Best Southwest, Past Chairman of the Board of Directors
  • Tex-21, Past Member and Vice-Chairman of the Transit Task Force
  • River of Trade Corridor Coalition, Founding Member
  • North Texas Commission, Former Board Member
  • National League of Cities, Former Transportation and Infrastructure Steering Committee Member
  • United States Conference of Mayors, Former Member Transportation and Communications Policy Committee
  • Joe Pool Lake Planning Council, Former Member
  • Dallas Convention and Visitors Bureau, Past Member of Board of Directors
  • Oak Cliff Chamber of Commerce, Past Chairman of Board of Directors
  • Guaranty Bank of Dallas, Past Chairman of the Directors Loan and Discount Committee
  • Distinguished Service Award Oak Cliff Jaycees
  • Dallas Independent School District, Past Chairman Esaa Advisory Committee
  • Dallas Motion Picture Classification Board, Past Vice-Chairman
  • Cliff Temple Baptist Church, Past Chairman of Deacons, Chairman of Personnel Committee