Duncanville City Council

The Duncanville City Council consists of seven members, including the mayor elected at large, one council member elected at large, and five council members elected from single-member districts.

City Council Members serve two-year terms, expiring on staggered years. The mayor, district two member, and district four member expire on even-numbered years. Council members and representatives from district one, district three, and district five have terms that expire on odd-numbered years.

Form of Government

The City of Duncanville has a “Council–Manager” type of government. The City Council, enacts local legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies, appoints the Judge of the Municipal Court, and appoints a professional City Manager to carry out day-to-day administrative government operations.

City Council Meetings

The Duncanville City Council meets twice per month, on the first Tuesday and the third Tuesday of every month, at City Hall. A typical Council meeting includes:

  • 6:00 PM: Work Session/Briefing – Briefing Room
  • 7:00 PM: Regular Session – Council Chambers

You can watch live streams of these meetings on the City’s Facebook page.

City elections are held each May. Visit Dallas County Elections for more election information.

Don McBurnett (D2), Karen Cherry (D4), Jeremy Koontz (D3), Barry L. Gordon (Mayor), Patrick Harvey (Mayor Pro Tem), Joe Veracruz (D1), and Greg Contreras (D5).

City Council

The City’s Work Plan

On September 20, 2016 the Duncanville City Council formally adopted the FY 2017 Work Plan, which includes the Council’s Mission Statement and the Six Capstones. This Work Plan identifies the major work items, in alignment with the FY 2017 Budget that will guide City Staff to implement and achieve the goals of the City Council. In addition, it serves to define the allocation and funding through the FY 2017 annual budget to implement the established goals toward future growth and governance of the City of Duncanville.

City Council Meetings

Town Hall Meetings

Barry L. Gordon


(214) 460-2682
Biography | Email

Patrick Harvey

Councilmember At-Large, Mayor Pro Tem

(469) 563-8121
Biography | Email

Joe Veracruz

Councilmember District 1

(972) 965-7809
Biography | Email

Don McBurnett

Councilmember District 2

(972) 296-4179
Biography | Email

Jeremy Koontz

Councilmember, District 3

(210) 240-1547
Biography | Email

Karen Cherry

Councilmember, District 4

(972) 294-9884
Biography | Email

Greg Contreras

Councilmember, District 5

(469) 616-8368
Biography | Email